Online Publications and Other Links

2017 Kansas Notable Books: https://kslib.info/1318/2017-Notable-Books

2016 Kansas Notable Books: https://kslib.info/1276/2016-Notable-Books

Links to published poems from While the Kettle’s On:

Kansas Poets website, run by Greg German: http://www.kansaspoets.com/ks_poets/johnson_melissa.htm

Kansas Time + Place—Melissa has published four poems on and (as guest judge in August 2015) selected five poems for this blog, run by Kansas Poet Laureate Emeritus Caryn Mirriam-Goldberg: https://150kansaspoems.wordpress.com/?s=Melissa+Fite 

Poetry Breakfast, “Watching the Street Performers”: https://poetrybreakfast.com/tag/melissa-fite-johnson/

Period, three poems: http://www.period.ink/poetry/#/melissa-fite-johnson/

Period, three more poems: http://www.period.ink/poetry/#/melissa-fite-johnson-2/

Links to newer poems:

Rattle, “The Woman and the Wolf.”  http://www.rattle.com/the-woman-and-the-wolf-by-melissa-fite-johnson/.  (Winner of the April 2017 Ekphrastic Challenge: Artist’s Choice.)

3Elements Review, “Watching Casablanca at Oma and Opa’s House”: http://www.3elementsreview.com/journal-issues/3elements-review-spring-journal-issue-10-2016.pdf#page=27. (Nominated for 2016 Best of the Net!)

Broadsided Press, “Backyard”: http://www.broadsidedpress.org/qa/2017/05may.shtml.  (Winner of the 2017 Switcheroo.)

Valparaiso Poetry Review, “Being Human”: http://www.valpo.edu/vpr/v17n2/v17n2poetry/johnsonbeing.php

Rust + Moth, “A Postcard to My Husband in Kansas While I Vacation in California”: http://rustandmoth.com/work/a-postcard-to-my-husband-while-i-vacation-in-california/

Whale Road Review, “Donating My Eggs”: http://www.whaleroadreview.com/johnson/

Red Paint Hill, “You Can’t Fake an Egg”: http://www.redpainthill.com/#!issue-9-melissa-fite-johnson/sym6s

The Journal: Inspiration for the Common Good, “Apologia for Not Wanting Children”: https://issuu.com/kansasleadershipcenter/docs/klc_journal_vol._7_issue_5_fall_201/76

The Woman Inc, “Triple Self-Portrait”: https://thewomaninc.com/2017/03/02/triple-portrait/

One Sentence Poems, “Saturday Night Conversation”: http://www.onesentencepoems.com/osp/melissa-fite-johnson-saturday-night-conversation/

One Sentence Poems, “As a Child, Dylan Klebold Loved Origami”: http://www.onesentencepoems.com/osp/melissa-fite-johnson/

velvet-tail, “Watching My Husband Cook”: https://velvet-tail.com/archives/issue-1/

South Florida Poetry Journal, “Sometimes People Are Good”:  http://www.southfloridapoetryjournal.com/poems-aug-16.html

Rat’s Ass Review, three poems: http://ratsassreview.net/?page_id=1070#Johnson

Bear Review, “Linger”: https://soundcloud.com/bear-review/melissa-fite-johnsons-linger (audio); https://issuu.com/bearreview/docs/bearreview_2.2 (whole issue)

Broadsided Press, “In spring voices cried”: http://www.broadsidedpress.org/hyir/2014.shtml

New Verse News, “On Ray Rice”: http://newversenews.blogspot.com/2014/11/on-ray-rice.html

New Verse News, “This Is the Detail that Breaks Me”: http://newversenews.blogspot.com/2016/07/this-is-detail-that-breaks-me.html

New Verse News, “3 Excuses for Not Marching and Then a Poem”: https://newversenews.blogspot.com/2017/01/3-excuses-for-not-marching-and-then-poem.html

New Verse News, “The Water Park in August”: https://newversenews.blogspot.com/2016/08/the-water-park-in-august.html

New Verse News, “Mike Pence, I Am Not Trying to Seduce You”: https://newversenews.blogspot.com/2017/04/mike-pence-i-am-not-trying-to-seduce-you.html

Home Words: A Project of the Poet Laureate of Kansas, “After the Strokes”: http://kansashumanities.org/v2/wp-content/uploads/2014/04/HW_JohnsonSweeney1.pdf

Red Eft Review, “Waiting for the Ball to Drop in Times Square” and “High School Pep Band”: http://redeftreview.blogspot.com/search?q=melissa+fite+johnson

Eunoia Review, seven poems: https://eunoiareview.wordpress.com/tag/melissa-fite-johnson/

The Invisible Bear, “Portrait of the Author”: https://issuu.com/theinvisiblebear/docs/invisible_bear_2015_final_proof_pdf (whole issue)

Three Line Poetry, untitled poem: http://threelinepoetry.com/issue.php?id=36&issue=36 (whole issue)

Interview for the Topeka and Shawnee County Public Library Page:

Miranda Ericsson, Review and Interview: https://tscpl.org/books-movies-music/while-the-kettles-on

Newspaper articles about While the Kettle’s On:

Andra Bryan Stefanoni, The Joplin Globe, “A Tale of Two Writers”:
http://www.joplinglobe.com/news/local_news/andra-bryan-stefanoni-a-tale-of-two-writers/article_01b24b37-1656-5ded-bf93-81d02f30a94b.html

Michael Stavola, The Morning Sun, “Pittsburg Author Recognized”:
http://www.morningsun.net/news/20160620/pittsburg-author-recognized

Jesse Brown, The Morning Sun, “PHS Teacher Wins Poetry Award”:
http://www.morningsun.net/article/20151114/NEWS/151119921

Megan Munger, The Booster Redux, “While the Kettle’s On: Johnson Publishes First Poetry Book”:
http://s3.amazonaws.com/scschoolfiles/579/april_2015.pdf (page 6)

Newspaper articles about Ghost Sign:

Andra Bryan Stefanoni, The Joplin Globe, “Ghost Signs Abound in Pittsburg”:
http://www.joplinglobe.com/news/local_news/andra-stefanoni-ghost-signs-abound-in-pittsburg/article_d17ba533-0d0a-56d5-bb63-91ce849a448c.html

J.T. Knoll, The Morning Sun, “Ghost Sign: Words on the Walls of Time”:
http://gm1-kmwebvarnish.newscyclecloud.com/opinion/20161022/ghost-sign—words-on-walls-of-time

A wonderful way to support independent writers is to write a review:

While the Kettle’s On:

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/22962879-while-the-kettle-s-on

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/While-Kettles-Melissa-Fite-Johnson/dp/0982454953/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1466620900&sr=8-1&keywords=melissa+fite+johnson

Ghost Sign:

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/32337652-ghost-sign

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Ghost-Sign-Al-Ortolani/dp/0990864960/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1478454110&sr=8-1&keywords=ghost+sign